Creating a Sum of Net and Gross profit from multiple tables?

Hi I really like Grist, but I’m having difficulty figuring out something that is probably really simple. I’m sure their are multiple ways of creating this document, but I uploaded the information that I currently had in an Excel document. I’m an artist and sell at different locations, and created a table for each month with all the retail locations. I have a formula to calculate the Net and Gross profit for each of these locations in a given month. I also created a widget table for the monthly sum of each location in that month. I want to pull the sum from each location in each month to auto calculate my Net and Gross total on a new table like the image shown. How do I do that?

Hi Eric! Welcome to the Community.

I made a quick example for you. Check it out at the link below:

https://public.getgrist.com/vSUAM9o9TpuQ/Community-668/p/1/m/fork

I made a few guesses on how each month was set up - let me know if I am way off and I can rewrite formulas based on your actual setup.

We are using our lookupOne formula. The general format for this formula is:

[Table_Name].lookupOne([A]=$[B]).[C]

[Table_Name] is the name of the table you want to lookup data in. [A] is the column in the table being looked up (named at the beginning of the formula), [B] is the column in the current table / the table you are entering the formula in and [C] is the data you want for that record.

The formula you see here checks the JAN_2021 table for a record where the Source matches the Source in this table (Location 1). If it finds a record, it pulls the data from the Net column. For the February column, you would change table name to FEB_2021. Or if you’re on the Gross table, you’d just change Net to Gross to pull in data from the Gross column of the specified table.