Display an HTML page in a custom widget, with the specific page URL designated in a column

I have been trying to modify the image viewer example (grist-widget/viewer at master · gristlabs/grist-widget · GitHub) to show a web page (in an iframe) in the custom widget, based on what row is selected in another widget.

Right now I’m getting a broken image.

I’m just beginning to learn how to do simple coding, but I’m thinking this may have to do with the code being written to display an image file on an HTML page (the widget) rather than it being meant to embed a whole page. Can you help me modify the code so that this will work?

Thanks in advance

For embedding an HTML page, try using the renderhtml custom widget, available at this URL: https://gristlabs.github.io/grist-widget/renderhtml.

There is an example here: https://public.getgrist.com/f95AzwmFZSp3/Embedded-Twitter-Widget/m/fork. To use it, make a single column visible to the widget, containing the URL of an HTML page.

The widget supports some parameters for what tags to enable in the iframe; the example above includes ?tags=script in the URL because that’s necessary to embed from Twitter. But for simple examples, it shouldn’t be needed.

By the way, for anyone looking for an example of using the image-viewer widget, there is an example here: https://public.getgrist.com/uMphMkdP6BZQ/Linked-Images/m/fork.

1 Like

Thanks so much @dmitry-grist

It seems to be working now, but intermittently. When I immediately go to the page, the widget shows the HTML (in this case, LinkedIn Profile badges), but when I then try to select another record in the linked table, it doesn’t load – the widget remains blank.

Any tips on how to solve this? Is there some setting that requires the widget to be refreshed? I’ve got the custom widget linked to get data from the same table I’m using to select the record/row – other widgets change properly when I select a new row, but not the custom widget to render HTML.