How to set up a set of tables with multiple tables for multiple animals

I am new to Grist. I actually have a small goat registry and wanting to set up sets of tables under one common main heading. To be honest I’m a bit over my head..

Example →
Every goat has a set of tables under a main table type called Journals. Here is how it works on my current Desktop software:
Journal [tables]
[sub-journal tables below]
Sources
DNA
Transfers & Registration Certificate Nos
Offspring
Questions & Concerns
(sometimes I create a new Journal category)

Sooo… Each goat has their own set of Journal entries.

As I create my set of grist tables, then I will upload csv from my current desktop software. I’m at as to exactly do this:

• How to create a set of Journal [table) and then the Journal [sub-tables}
  • Link those tables and subtables to the specific goat who is in my database.

Can someone help? Is there a widget or anything or some easy and good way to accomplish this?

there is only one GOAT, Messi :smiley:

Seriously, can you post a screenshot of your current software?

I am a bit confused because you talk about two tables with the same name (Journal or Journals)

And you didn´t mention any table called Goats.

I suppose the main table should be called Goats.

You link tables by using the setting columns as REFERENCE. Then you select what table and column that column references.

So…
Transfers & Registration Certificate Nos
This table should have a reference column where you will choose a goat.
So every new entry in this table will reference a specific goat.
We call this a 1-n relationship. 1 record from the Goat table references n (multiple) certificates.

You will ask me… so each time I create a new certificate, I need to select a goat?

NOPE :slight_smile:

When you create a table in Grist, it creates automatically a VIEW (or page) for that table (a link on the left menu) with a TABLE WIDGET.