Relationship in ER diagram from exported .grist file

Hi,

Here is my first attempts with Grist. And I’m still learning the feasibility of Grist to persuade others in my team.

My situation: I’m trying the free plan of Grist (SaaS version). I established the relationship between 2 tables via Reference column type. When exporting into a .grist file and then opening this file with dbeaver, I expect to see this relationship (1-to-many) within the ER diagram of dbeaver. However it just visualizes 2 isolated tables (entity). Is this the expected behavior?

Or how does Grist preserve the relationship between tables in an exported sqlite file?

Thanks

1 Like

Hi @sohee, Grist doesn’t set foreign key constraints at the SQLite level when you use references. The nature of the relationship is encoded in metadata tables, the ones whose names start with _grist_, specifically the type column of _grist_Tables_column. There’s definitely a case to be made for setting foreign key constraints when we can, and it would make it easier to generate quick visualizations using external tools - thanks for flagging this.

2 Likes

Interesting. Was just looking at the meta tables. I’m curious why Grist is designed this way. With foreign keys, you are basically replicating the core foreign key constraints of Sqlite. Why not just use foreign key constraints as is? What is the benefit of doing this by encoding a new metadata table?

1 Like

Hi @paul-grist . Thanks for your reply. So this is an expected behavior from the design of Grist.

Similar to @ddsgadget , i’d love to read more about the reason and benefits why did you design Grist in this way.

With the foreign key constraints at sqlite level, I would simply plug the .grist file into an instance of nocodb to serve as another front-end GUI. This might facilitate the switch to modern database GUI like Grist or Nocodb?