Using LEN to count records -- based on values in a reference column?

Grist noob here, evaluating the system. Really impressed so far! I’m curious about something I can’t find addressed in Help or the forum: getting a LEN count from a reference column in another table.

Scenario:
Studios: table of studios identified by Studio_num.

Equipment: table of equipment across all studios, with a reference column Equipment.Studio_num linking each record to a Studio.Studio_num. (So equipment can only be assigned to a Studio_num existing in Studios.)

What I’m adding:
A column in “Studios” indicating the count of equipment records associated with each studio:

What doesn’t work:
This LEN formula returns 0:

LEN(Equipment.lookupRecords(Studio_num=$Studio_num))

I presume this is because Equipment.Studio_num references a whole record in Studios.

What works:

If I create Equipment.Studio_key as $Studio_num.Studio_num, the formula returns correct counts:

LEN(Equipment.lookupRecords(Studio_key=$Studio_num))

Visuals:

What I’m wondering:

This additional column is a decent workaround, but maybe I’m missing a more elegant way to use dot notation to get a LEN count of relevant records from a reference column?

Thanks for any thoughts!

Hi there and welcome to the Community! :wave:

For being a self-proclaimed “Grist noob”, you did remarkably well with creating the lookupRecords function! KUDOS! And your presumption that it is not working due to the reference column is absolutely correct. Because a reference columns stores the column ID, we need to use the ID as the match criteria. This is admittedly a difficult topic to grasp overall.

Update your formula to len(Equipment.lookupRecords(Studio_Number=$id))

That’s it!