Feature suggestion: duplicate as new empty table

Would be good to be able to duplicate a table, whereby structure (and possibly data) are completely disconnected from the original table.

As I’m still learning the ropes with Grist API, I do tests on a duplicate of the target table first.
I learned that duplicating a table currently keeps it “linked” to the original table.
So what I do is download as CSV, import in new table, and reapply all column formatting.
A bit time consuming :slight_smile:

Perhaps there is a workaround?
In any case, duplicating a table with or without its data, in one click would be useful.

1 Like

Making a new separate copy of a table’s data is definitely something we plan on adding.

For your use case of trying out changes in a safe environment, see Copying documents - Grist Help Center. This explains how to make a ‘fork’ which you can compare to the original in a way that nicely shows the differences

2 Likes

Thank you! Good to learn about the Copying Documents feature, which indeed can be used as a potential workaround.

Oh great, we also need table copying for a project we’re working on:
A crowd sourced app comparison directory.
Was really excited to discover grist and all its features, there’s really nothing else that comes close save for Luckysheet Document but that isn’t great on mobile.

Problem is there’s no way to allow public [Editor] to add or copy a table with the template we need.
At best they can copy paste data from a sample table, but copy paste doesn’t input column titles.
Another way to allow public to add templates would be if they can use the ‘Import from file’ feature. Alas this is denied by an access permission I can’t seem to change “GenImporterView’ actions need uncomplicated access”.

This feature:
https://support.getgrist.com/copying-docs/#copying-as-a-template
Doesn’t work for our use case either, as it copies the whole doc and not an individual table.