Is It Possible to 'Lazy Reference' or 'Copy-Style Reference'?

Suggest I have two tables called ‘Grades’ and ‘Students’, and in Grades a column named ‘ID’ references the ID number column from table ‘Students’. However as a teacher I have different students every year, so when I delete records in ‘Students’ that were referenced elsewhere, the referenced data would also be deleted.

Is it possible to do a ‘lazy reference’, where the reference column is only updated when certain circumstances are met, for example when I hit the return key. Or make the ‘reference’ column actually a copy column, which only references the data once and for all (i.e. copies the data). This way, I can delete or update the table without messing columns in other tables.

:frowning: Anybody got an idea?

Hi there,

I would not recommend deleting the data in the referenced table unless you are deleting the referenced records as well.

Instead, I would recommend adding a column to archive the old data - then it’s still there if you need it in the future and you won’t lose that link between your data.

I created an example for you here: Community #2932 - Grist

I have a table of Students and a table of Grades. The Grades table has a reference column that points to the Students table.

I have a column Archive? in the Students table where I can toggle to archive a particular student (or list of students) when the year/semester is over.

The Archived? column in the Grades table is a formula column that returns the value from the Archive? column for the student listed in the Name column.

With these two Archive columns, you can filter out archived students and grades.

This way, the historical data is still available and you don’t lose the link between the Student and Grades.

Because the Archived? column in Grades is a formula column, this will continue to work in the background so we can hide this column from view.

Please let me know if you have any follow up questions.

Thanks,
Natalie