Populating a reference/drop down cell with filtered data from another table

First of all, I am completely new to this so my apologies if I don’t use the correct language when explaining…
I am trying to work out how to populate a reference/drop down cell with data that has been filtered.

I have 3 tables:

1. Worksheets
  2. Clients
  3. Billing_Groups

Worksheet columns: ID, Date, Billing_Group (referenced from Billing_Groups $Group_Acronym), Assigned_by, Activity

Client columns: ID, Name, Billing_Group (referenced from Worksheet $Billing_Group and can have multiple)

Billing_Groups columns: ID, Group_Name, Group_Acronym, Billing_Name

I am trying to fill the drop down cell in column “$Assigned_by” with “$Name” from table “Clients” but only the “$Names” who’s “$Billing_Group” matches the “$Billing_Group” cell from the “Worksheets” table.

I am assuming I set the “$Assigned_by” Column Type to “Reference” / Data from Table to “Clients” / Show Column to “Name” and then some formula under “Transform - Apply Formula to Data”?

Would this be the correct setup?
How would I structure the Formula to achieve this in Grist?

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the community!

We don’t yet have the feature you are looking for here but it’s a great idea that we would like to implement.

Our team was able to come up with a workaround for you. Check it out at the link below:

https://public.getgrist.com/xe274zrR9ZXy/Community-657/m/fork

On the first page, ‘By Billing Group’, you will be able to add worksheet items based on group and client. First, select your billing group. Then, you’ll select the ‘Assigned By’ Name. The name selection will filter based on which group is selected in the first step. Then, enter your Activity. The Billing Group and Assigned By columns will auto populate.

You can hide columns in each of these tables as desired.