Widget that shows data from multiple tables

I have multiple tables that are slightly different but which all have a DateTime column and a Description column and I want to be able to have a single widget that displays data from those tables so that I can create a sort of timeline of activities based on that DateTime column. Is it possible to do this? Any tips to get me started?

what’s your level of knowledge with Grist? Not sure you don´t know how to do simple things or if you are trying to make something complicated…

I’m new to Grist. This is child’s play in a typical relational database, which is what I am used to. I’ve set up a few widgets so far and am working with the API a little and that’s about all the experience I have. I’m sorry if this is a simple thing to accomplish, so just a pointer is all I need, since I can’t find the info I need to move forward.

I don’t think there is an integrated widget to do that; it should be possible with a custom widget, especially since there is an sql endpoint. You may try, for example, to use this query (which evidently doesn’t mean anything) on this sample:

select `Value`, `Labels`, null from `values`
  union
  select `Name`, null, `Categories` from `products`

Ah ok! I didn’t know that was possible. I will look into that!

Before doing that, I would look at the tables and see if it might make sense to combine them into one table.

I’d need to know more about your use case to see if that’s a good idea, but much is possible with a single table. For example, this document is built off one table: Software Deals Tracker - Grist Each page has a very different workflow/visualization, but it’s the same underlying table.

I looked into and I don’t think that will let me do what I want, since I didn’t see an easy way to then use that union query with the built-in charts.